Chapter 2

Class 9
3. Distinguish between: (i)Bhangar and Khadar


Distinguish between:

(i) Bhangar and Khadar

(ii) the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats


(i) Bhangar: The largest part of the northern plain is formed of older alluvium which lies above the floodplains of the rivers and gives a terrace-like feature. This region is known as Bhangar. The soil in this region contains calcareous deposits, locally known as kankar.

Khadar: The newer, younger deposits of the floodplains are called khadar. They are renewed almost every year, become fertile, and are ideal for intensive agriculture.

(ii)Western Ghats:

  • The Western Ghats lie parallel to the western coast.
  • They are continuous and can be crossed through passes only.
  • The Western Ghats are higher than the Eastern Ghats. Their average height is 900– 1600 metres as compared to 600 metres of the Eastern Ghats.
  • The Western Ghats cause orographic rain by forcing the rain-bearing moist monsoon winds to rise along the western slopes of the Ghats. The highest peak of Western Ghats is Anai Mudi (2,695 metres) and the Doda Betta (2,637 metres).

Eastern Ghats:

  • The Eastern Ghats stretch from the Mahanadi Valley to the Nigiri in the south.
  • The Eastern Ghats are irregular and divided by rivers draining into the Bay of Bengal.
  • In the Eastern Ghats, Mahendragiri (1,501 metres) is the highest peak. Shevroy Hills and the Javadi Hills are located to the southeast of the Eastern Ghats.

Buy Latest Books

Teacher's Corner